The Sometimes Useful Internet

20 04 2009

I took down my really dusty bedroom curtains, put them through the wash and then hung them out to dry.  If I had brought them in and hung them straight back up I probably wouldn’t have had to iron them.  But of course I grabbed them off the line before a shower of rain and then they spent several days scrunched up in the laundry basket, so I created another hour of work for myself by not being organised and bringing them in earlier.

Ironed curtains in hand, I went to hang them back up and realised I had no idea what to do with the long piece of material that hangs across the top and ties up in the corners.  I had tried to take a mental note of what it looked like when I took them down but no matter what I did I couldn’t make it look right.  I went back and looked at photos I had taken when we first moved into the house which had these windows in them but I still couldn’t figure out how to make it look right.

So I looked it up on the internet.

The internet can be frustrating at the best of times, even when you know exactly what you are looking for.  When I started my search with terms like “hang across the top of curtains” and “rings at the sides of curtains”, I didn’t really expect to find much.

It took a while and quite a bit of reading but I have now learnt all about “scarf valances” (the bit of material that hangs across the top of curtain tracks), “swags” (the hanging bit), “tails” (the bit that hangs down the side) and “rosettes” (the knots in the corner).  I also now know that the rings I have screwed into my wall are actually called “valance creators”.  Internet searching becomes so much easier when you have some decent search terms.  I suddenly found dozens of pages giving me step by step instructions on how to hang a scarf valance and how to use the valance creators to give different rosettes.

scarf05

I suppose this is knowledge that would have once been passed down from mothers to daughters.  But so often this chain of learning is broken, particularly in our modern society where people are quicker to pay others for their skills and services then learn them for themselves.  I am thankful I have a mother and mother-in-law who are quite skilled at lots of things around the home and are always happy to pass on their knowledge.  (My mum recently helped me sew my first set of curtains).  I’m taking this chance in my life to learn as many of these basic household skills as I can so that I will be able to pass them on to my kids one day (if they want to learn).  I’m soaking up knowledge from other people I know, from books and magazines, and even from the (gasp!) internet.

Occassionaly I find the internet can be truly useful.  Every so often it stops being an addictive, brain numbing, time-sucker and actually proves its worth.

Thanks to the internet, my scarf valances are satisfactorily rehung and ready to start collecting dust all over again. 🙂

img_5522

Actions

Information

One response

28 07 2009
Bedroom Update « Socks and Gardening

[…] this photo looks just the same as the last one I took when I was washing the windows and curtains. But there is one difference – can you spot […]

Leave a Reply

