Bedroom Update

28 07 2009

IMG_0121

I know, I know… this photo looks just the same as the last one I took when I was washing the windows and curtains. But there is one difference – can you spot it?

Yes, the bookcase. There used to be a stack of large plastic storage boxes in this corner – holding clothes that are too big, too small, or too woolly. Now that these have been shifted under the bed, I moved the bookcase into the space. This poor bookcase has moved 4 times in the 5 years we have been in this house but I felt that it matched well with the new bed. Plus purchasing a new bookcase to put in the living room where this one came from will double our bookcase space – essential for keeping things out of reach of inquisitive toddlers. It also meant that we could set up our stereo in the bedroom again which is really nice on the few occassions that we are in there longer than 5 minutes before we fall alseep.

I’d really like to do something about the doonas on our bed. The ones you can see were actually David’s and his brother’s back when they were living in Bundaberg some 15-20 years ago. I have bought a king size doona and some material to make a cover but I’ve put it off because of other priorities and also because, actually, these two single doonas are so practical. I love being able to decide if I want the doona on or not and not having to wake up in the middle of the night because the other person has decided they are hot and thrown the covers off. We use them all year round in Brisbane, with an acrylic blanket in winter and with a cotton blanket in between seasons. Hmmm, maybe I should just make two single covers with the material. I’ll think about that until I find time to actually do some sewing.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

